Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Probably a dumb question, but...

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-14-2013, 01:20 PM   #1
jphalabuk
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Probably a dumb question, but...

I have been kegging for ~ 6 months now, and I love it.

My kegerator only has room for 5 kegs in it, and that's with me running the Co2 and Nitro from outside the fridge. Here is my dumb question:

If I carbonate outside the fridge (at room temp) to exactly the volume I want, and then put the keg into the fridge, will the amount of carbonation stay the same? I understand that temperature makes a difference in how easy the CO2 dissolves, but I want to believe that once it's dissolved, it is dissolved. Does that make sense?

Anyway, thanks for the help.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-14-2013, 06:53 PM   #2
zachattack
Recipes 

Liked 233 Times on 201 Posts
Likes Given: 122

Quote:
Originally Posted by jphalabuk View Post
If I carbonate outside the fridge (at room temp) to exactly the volume I want, and then put the keg into the fridge, will the amount of carbonation stay the same?
Yup, you're good to go. Just use a carb chart/calculator to determine the right pressure at your room temp. Probably on the order of 30 psi. Once it's carbed up let the keg chill overnight, but remember to drop the pressure before you hook it back up!
Old 08-14-2013, 07:37 PM   #3
slarkin712
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 42 Times on 38 Posts
Likes Given: 6