Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > priming methods bulk vrs by the bottle

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-06-2010, 12:51 PM   #1
Byrdbrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default priming methods bulk vrs by the bottle

Cheers fellow home brewers.

I am new to home brewing ( about a year or so ) and have always primed my bottles before bottling. I'm considering using the method of batch priming, adding the sugar solution to the bottling bucket and filling the bottles, mostly to save time and effort. My concern is two fold, 1- that the bottles will not consistently have the same amount of sugar in each bottle (and will under carbonate, or worse explode) , and 2- that I will aerate my beer by stirring in the solution. What are your thoughts on this quandary, and what have you found to be the best way to bottle? Thanks in advance for your help.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-06-2010, 01:01 PM   #2
MikeinAK
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

A lot people, including myself, when they bulk prime, dissolve the sugar in a small amount of boiling water, let it cool a bit, pour into the bucket, rack the beer on right top, and then bottle. No extra stirring is needed, so there's no extra chance of aeration involved and I've never had issues with consistency in carbonation between bottles.
I've never primed bottles individually, so I may be blowing smoke out my a**.

Old 03-06-2010, 01:04 PM   #3
JakeTheHopDog
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

I prepare my sugar, boil and cool. Then start racking to my bottling bucket. When I have 2-3 inches of beer in the bucket, I add the sugar solution. Everything seems to mix pretty well from there, but I mix it a bit with my spoon, careful to not add any air bubbles, and bottle away. No problem so far.

Keith

My Keezer Build

HOP DOG BREWING CO.
Spring Hill, FL
"If you can't drink with the Hop Dog..."