Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Pop tops or flip tops?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-03-2013, 02:58 AM   #1
BMClark2210
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Pop tops or flip tops?

So I'm fairly new to brewing. In fact I haven't even bottled my first batch (but I have 12 gallons fermenting). I was wondering what everyone's thoughts where on which are best to use. Thanks in advance.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-03-2013, 08:57 AM   #2
willness33
Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 2

I prefer flip tops but I bottle from my kegs. I doubt this reply helped at all.

Primary: Octoberfest
Secondary: German Pils
Kegged and serving: Hoptimus Prime IIPA
Willamette Golden Ale
Paulaner Hefe Clone
420(ish)Pale Ale Almostaclone

Old 05-03-2013, 09:18 AM   #3
woknblues
Recipes 

Liked 70 Times on 46 Posts
Likes Given: 52

Flip tops are very sought after, but in retrospect as someone who has sought them in the past, I can't really see all the benefit, besides them being cool and all. Caps are really cheap and dependable.

Primary#1: BM's Loon Lake Smoked Porter
Primary#2: Farmhouse Saison Brett
Secondary#1-4: Empty
Keg#1: Nothing fancy Choc Stout w/ nibs
Keg#2: Graff
Keg#3-4: Empty

Old 05-03-2013, 09:54 AM   #4
mikescooling
Recipes 

Liked 204 Times on 155 Posts
Likes Given: 185

I like Serra Nevada and Sam Adams, if I need to buy beer it's one of those two. First, I like the beer. Second they use good bottles that the label's come off easy. If I'm bottling beer, it's to give away. Find some college kids who drink like fish and offer some home brew for their empties. Two 20's y/o dudes got all mad at me because after 25 cases, I told them "I'm good, I don't need any more"

Old 05-03-2013, 10:58 AM   #5
Calichusetts
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 224 Times on 165 Posts
Likes Given: 602