Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Oooooold co2?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-25-2010, 07:50 PM   #1
hevnsnt
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Olathe, KS, KS
Posts: 7
Default Oooooold co2?

So I have been watching craigslist for a co2 bottle, so I could start putting together a kegerator. One came up cheap ($15) that was older, so I figured I would get it.

When I got over there I found that it was FULL. Thing is, it was filled almost 8 years ago.

So,

Should I go ahead and use up this co2? Does co2 (in a Steel bottle) go bad?

__________________
hevnsnt is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-25-2010, 08:02 PM   #2
marubozo
I can has homebrew?
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
marubozo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 30,595
Liked 5366 Times on 5225 Posts
Likes Given: 222

Default

I can't say with 100% certainty that old gas is good gas, but I'm fairly certain it's just fine as long as it's actually CO2 that's in there. When I got my 20 pound tanks the guy said he hadn't used them for five years but they were still each about half full. No problems here.

__________________
marubozo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-25-2010, 11:23 PM   #3
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,231
Liked 244 Times on 196 Posts
Likes Given: 430

Default

No problem at all. Use it. That was a lucky find. Congrats!

__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-25-2010, 11:25 PM   #4
strat_thru_marshall
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 1,679
Liked 26 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 32

Default

co2 is co2. should be fine

__________________
strat_thru_marshall is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-26-2010, 03:37 AM   #5
hevnsnt
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Olathe, KS, KS
Posts: 7
Default

great thanks guys!

__________________
hevnsnt is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-26-2010, 07:18 PM   #6
alias
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 8
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Tank will probably need re-certified when you go to fill it if it hasn't been filled for 8 years, as they are stamped for 5 year long safety certification. Some places don't bother checking much and or just swap them but it is something to keep in mind.

__________________
alias is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-26-2010, 07:20 PM   #7
the_bird
10th-Level Beer Nerd
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
the_bird's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Adams, MA
Posts: 20,454
Liked 354 Times on 292 Posts
Likes Given: 95

Default

If you want to refill, plan on $15 - $20 for a hydro test. If you want to swap, I don't think any place requires you to pay for the test.

CO2's not going to go bad - you're fine. I got an old tank, probably 15 years old (think the last hydro on it was 1992), and used up the CO2 before swapping it. Gas was fine, and no cost for the test.

__________________
Come join Yankee Ingenuity!

"I'm kind of toasted. But I looked at my watch and it's only 6:30 so I can't stop drinking yet." - Yooper's Bob
"Brown eye finally recovered after the abuse it endured in Ptown last weekend, but it took almost a full week." - Paulie
"no, he just doesn't speak 'stupid'. i, however, am fluent...." - motobrewer
"... I'll go both ways." - Melana

That'll do, Pigley. That'll do.
the_bird is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-26-2010, 08:03 PM   #8
david_42
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
david_42's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Willamina & Oak Grove, Oregon, USA
Posts: 25,651
Liked 132 Times on 125 Posts

Default

Use it. When it's empty, take it to a place that swaps tanks. That makes the hydro test their problem.

__________________
david_42 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools