Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > No idea how to use my draft system.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-15-2009, 11:55 PM   #1
bluedragoon85
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 211
Default No idea how to use my draft system.

I'm getting ready to keg my first 5 gallon batch, but I don't seem to get this to work. I already attached the regulator, made sure it was on the off position and opened the cylinder valve. I connected everything to the keg and set the PSI on the regulator to about 5-8 psi. I turned the valve on the hose, and nothing. There's no pressure in the keg. This is the system I got. Is there something I'm missing? sorry I just really have no clue and I already followed the instructions that came with the regulator.

EDIT: GOt it to work. I didn't do anything differently, after I shut the cylinder off and opened it again it started working. Also, my regulator is marking that the pressure in the cylinder is all the way to the top, the needle is almost hitting the top. Does this mean my tank is overfilled? or is this normal for a fully filled tank?

__________________

bluedragoon85 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-15-2009, 11:58 PM   #2
Picobrew
Biscuit Enthusiast
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Picobrew's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NW Portland, OR
Posts: 1,109
Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Make sure gas disconnect is connected to the IN post on the corny. If it doesnt fit don't force it. Also, are you sure its clicked on there properly? I once had a quick disconnect that didn't have the proper insert in it to push the poppit down on the post, but yours is brand new so that certainly shouldn't be the case.

__________________
Picobrew is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2009, 12:08 AM   #3
bluedragoon85
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 211
Default

Quote:
Make sure gas disconnect is connected to the IN post on the corny. If it doesnt fit don't force it. Also, are you sure its clicked on there properly? I once had a quick disconnect that didn't have the proper insert in it to push the poppit down on the post, but yours is brand new so that certainly shouldn't be the case.
Yeah, I double checked and checked again.

Also, What's up with the regulator? When I first opened the cylinder it marked it in the green (Full) area, and then I turned the cylinder off, and turned on again and the needle spiked. Here's a pic:

and yes, I did shut the valve of.




EDIT: I closed the cylinder valve, and seconds later air escaped from the regulator and entered the CO2 tank =/ Why doesn't it do that when the cylinder is open?
__________________

bluedragoon85 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2009, 12:39 AM   #4
uwjester
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
uwjester's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 736
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I bet you have a check valve on your distributor. You may have to reconnect the line from the regulator to the distributor (manifold) to the input. Kind of looks like it is connected to an output in your picture.

__________________

--------------------------------------------------
This space intentionally left blank.
--------------------------------------------------

uwjester is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2009, 12:43 AM   #5
bluedragoon85
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 211
Default

Quote:
I bet you have a check valve on your distributor. You may have to reconnect the line from the regulator to the distributor (manifold) to the input. Kind of looks like it is connected to an output in your picture.
Yeah, I think I know what you mean. It does appear the hose is attached to an output on the manifold, but it isn't, I should have taken a better picture. However, it's working now like a charm. I have no idea what the problem was. All I did was turn off the cylinder, and then turn it on again.

EDIT: Here's a better pic of the gas lines.



But, I am a bit worried, it looks like the pressure is to high in the CO2 tank, since the needle almost spikes to the top? is this bad? And, is it normal for the regulator to freeze up? Sorry if these all sound like dumb questions, but when working with high pressure stuff like this I want to be as safe as possible.
__________________

bluedragoon85 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2009, 12:52 AM   #6
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
 
Bobby_M's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Whitehouse Station, NJ
Posts: 22,202
Liked 1044 Times on 697 Posts
Likes Given: 28

Default

What pressure is it reading?

__________________
BrewHardware.com has a new website. Please check it out and let me know what you think!
New 100% Stainless Steel Heating Elements are IN!
Chugger Pumps, Pump Kits, Camlocks, Sightglasses, Clear USA made Silicone Tubing, RIMS, Electric Install Parts, etc. Did you know we are also now a full service homebrew shop selling malt, hops, yeast (Wyeast), etc?
Bobby_M is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2009, 12:56 AM   #7
bluedragoon85
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 211
Default

Quote:
What pressure is it reading?
at about 1800 PSI
__________________
bluedragoon85 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2009, 02:02 AM   #8
Arkador
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,722
Liked 15 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default

I'd shut off the air at the tank, depressurize the system, disconnect from the keg, and then turn the tank back on before reconnecting any of the kegs.

that 1800 is way off. at about 1500psi your rupture disk on the tank would have blown.

__________________
Arkador is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2009, 02:27 AM   #9
bluedragoon85
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 211
Default

Quote:
I'd shut off the air at the tank, depressurize the system, disconnect from the keg, and then turn the tank back on before reconnecting any of the kegs.

that 1800 is way off. at about 1500psi your rupture disk on the tank would have blown.
THe first time I opened the tank it was in the green zone at about 1,000 psi. I did relieve the regulator of any gas a couple of times, but each time I open the tank, the pressure is at about 1600-1800 psi. From the first couple of pics I posted you can see the needle on the gauge at about 1800 psi
__________________
bluedragoon85 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2009, 03:13 AM   #10
Arkador
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,722
Liked 15 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default

may be a bad guage. Kegconnection would likley help you troubleshoot it over the phone, and send a replacement right out.

__________________
Arkador is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone use the tap a draft system? Beernewb General Beer Discussion 15 10-10-2009 01:26 AM
Tap-A-Draft system. jjbomb Bottling/Kegging 4 04-04-2008 05:58 PM
Has anyone use the TAP A DRAFT System texaviator23 Bottling/Kegging 0 04-15-2006 07:47 PM
Tap-a-Draft system? gumbo2go Bottling/Kegging 4 11-28-2005 07:27 AM
Anybody using the Tap-A-Draft system? ESPY Bottling/Kegging 2 03-09-2005 03:12 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS