Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Need help with CO2 tank problem

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-25-2008, 01:39 AM   #1
BWRIGHT
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default Need help with CO2 tank problem

I kegged my first two batches today and I am having some trouble with my CO2 tank. When I got it filled earlier today the high pressure gauge read 200 psi when I connected it. I've had two kegs carbing at 30 psi for a couple hours now and it is now reading 100 psi. I could not detect any leaks, but like I said, I am new to kegging. Is my gague just not working? Is there some way I can tell how much CO2 left. Even with a leak, there should be more than 100 psi left right? Need some help.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-25-2008, 01:41 AM   #2
McKBrew

Recipes 

Liked 30 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Is the tank in the refrigerator? Cold tanks will read a different pressure than room temp ones.

Make Beer, Not War.

Old 06-25-2008, 01:58 AM   #3
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 2 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 937 Times on 623 Posts
Likes Given: 28

Yeah but 200psi on the high side? Do you have it sitting in liquid nitrogen? It should read between 600-1000 psi.

Sightglass, Refractometer, Ball Valve, Weldless bulkhead, Thermometer, Decals, Stainless Steel Fittings, Compression Fittings, Camlock Quick Disconnects, Scale, RIMS tube, Plate Chiller, Chugger Pump, Super Clear Silicone Tubing, and more!

New Stuff?

Old 06-25-2008, 02:02 AM   #4
McKBrew

Recipes 

Liked 30 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobby_M View Post
Yeah but 200psi on the high side? Do you have it sitting in liquid nitrogen? It should read between 600-1000 psi.
Yeah, I should have mentioned that too. Me and my incomplete answers.

Make Beer, Not War.

Old 06-25-2008, 02:08 AM   #5
fishops
Recipes