Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Is my dual regulator broken, or am I?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-12-2011, 12:21 AM   #1
mmonacel
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default Is my dual regulator broken, or am I?

Disclaimer: I'm completely new to kegging. I've searched around, but haven't found any threads that really cover this.

In playing around and looking to carb my first keg, I'm noticing a few things that I think are odd. Please let me know if this is normal for a dual regulator system.

Note:
- I always attach the carbing keg to the "outside" regulator - the one furthest from the tank.
- There is nothing attached to the "inside" regulator - the one closest to the tank.
- Ambient temperature is about 55 degrees
- My system is the Brew Logic Dual Tap Draft System

Issues:
  1. With both regs set to 0 and gas off, when connecting the keg, the attached reg doesn't show pressure. I need to open up the gas for the reg dial to (presumably) climb to the pressure of the attached keg. Maybe this is normal and is the reason for a "bleeder valve" setup?
  2. When not connected to a keg, and the gas is on, the outside regulator will spin up to around 50 psi before the overflow valve starts letting out
  3. When turning the knob to the desired pressure, it will fill to the pressure, but then overshoot. I typically need to "sneak up" to the right pressure
  4. When looking to shut down the system, I unattach the keg and turn off the gas. In order for the previously attached (outside) regulator to get to zero and not continually climb, I need to set the internal regulator to some PSI and purge the outside until zero. Then I need to purge the inside regulator. During this, the outside climbs a little so I then purge it the rest of the way.

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

Mike