Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > My bottle cleaning technique

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-10-2005, 01:09 AM   #1
DesertBrew
You're not my type
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 83 Times on 77 Posts
Likes Given: 173

Default My bottle cleaning technique

Just thought I'd share since I am a newb and it seems to be working well for me but am wondering if I got some overkill here. Less work is always better in my world:

I keep a big old bucket of h20 7-10 gal in the garage with 4oz of bleach mix. Be it a purchased bottle I want to retain or a home brew I just launch them bad boys in there. Labels eventually come right off the new. My own batch I rinse the yeast out before throwing them in there. This is supposedly equal to a sanitizer based on "the book". Odds are the bottles will be in here for weeks.

When it's time to bottle or theres no more room in there I'll then soap em up, scrub with the bottle brush and rinse with hot water (got a bottle washer).

Stick them in the dishwasher (cleaned/sanitizer sprayed) to hold them while I get ready to bottle. Sometimes run the DW afterwards.

Soak em in sanitizer for a minute or so and stack em up to be filled.

So, overkill? Just fine? Like my big-bucket of h20 thingamabob? For some reason it feels like the soap and water/bottle brush is overkill. Maybe just a hot water blast is good enough? Probably my biggest inquiry is this step.

No keg comments, I know I know.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2005, 03:55 AM   #2
Dark_Ale
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Quote:
Originally Posted by desertBrew
Just thought I'd share since I am a newb and it seems to be working well for me but am wondering if I got some overkill here. Less work is always better in my world: