The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Looking to get into Kegging

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-19-2011, 10:35 AM   #1
Medevac_Chief
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Looking to get into Kegging

Hey everyone,
I am new at brewing but have been seriously looking into starting to keg my beer instead of bottles. So I was wondering if I could run all my beer on a Nirto system so that I dont have to buy 1 system for my IPA's, and other Ales, and the Nitro system for just the Stout.
Thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-19-2011, 10:53 AM   #2
NewBrewB
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 19 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 10

I don't know what a "Nirto system" is but if your question is about running different pressures to different kinds of beer, that can be accomplished by a gas manifold with a separate output pressure for each split-off. (I've seen as many as 8 of these linked together.... seems like LOTS of risk for slow leaks, but once it is all solid, shouldn't have problems.)

Old 10-19-2011, 11:01 AM   #3
Medevac_Chief
Recipes 

Well arent stouts normally poured useing a nitro system instead of normal CO2, that have a diffent tap? I guess I should of been a bit more clear on my actual question. Can I run other styles of beer on the same system that I would a stout

Old 10-19-2011, 12:31 PM   #4
dezman
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

They use something called "beer gas" which is a mixture of nitrogen and co2. Think you can buy this stuff from your gas supplier. It would be worth checking out. I think this would be fine to use on any beer. Not sure how much it costs though may be expensive.

Old 10-19-2011, 01:16 PM   #5
scottatdrake
Recipes