New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > kegging questions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2007, 10:40 PM   #1
DrunkenSailor
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Default kegging questions

I am new to homebrewing and have my first "batch" ready for bottling/kegging. I have a cornelius keg and want to keg this batch. Question is how best to carbonate? I have read about using corn sugar, as in bottling and have been told to use CO2? Which is preferred? Also should I siphon the beer into the keg and let sit in the fridge to chill first or carbonate right away? last question (for now)...What temp should I keep my fridge at for storing the keg? My normal beer fridge is usually around 33-35 f.
Thanks for any advice or info.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-06-2007, 12:40 AM   #2
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 853 Times on 572 Posts
Likes Given: 26

Use corn sugar if you need to keep the keg out of the fridge for a couple weeks, force carb using Co2 if you can get it in the fridge. Your temps are fine. You can put the gas on the keg as soon as you put it in the fridge, it doesn't have to be cold first but it won't really start absorbing co2 until the temp drops.

Sightglass, Refractometer, Ball Valve, Weldless bulkhead, Thermometer, Decals, Stainless Steel Fittings, Compression Fittings, Camlock Quick Disconnects, Scale, RIMS tube, Plate Chiller, Chugger Pump, Super Clear Silicone Tubing, and more!

Old 08-06-2007, 01:54 AM   #3
DrunkenSailor

Recipes 

Thanks.
What is the best method of force carbing? I read to just pressurize the keg with co2 and let set. Also was told to pressuruze the tank with 30-35 psi and then vent to get all the air out and then pressurize through the outlet to force carb???

Old 08-06-2007, 02:20 AM   #4
Hemi

Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts