Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Kegging newbie here: Can someone help me understand some things?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-07-2012, 03:13 PM   #1
BMGfan
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default Kegging newbie here: Can someone help me understand some things?

Hey folks,

So I've FINALLY got my kegging setup and running, and I'm pouring foam. I'm not shocked or upset, but I obviously don't quite understand what I'm doing.

Before I get to the questions here's the situation:
-I've had the kegging equipment for a while, but due to life I only acquired my freezer/built it up yesterday. It's a two tap tower with 5' of 1/4" line on it.

-I've had two 5 gallon batches sitting on about 20psi (pressured to 20psi and then disconnected the gas, and let them sit in the corner) for about 5 or 6 months just waiting for the keg setup to be done (yes, it's been a LOOOOONG brewing free time period ). The kegs held pressure fine and the beer is carbonated it seems.

-Got the setup built yesterday and got the temp controller holding the beer at 3*C (37*F).

-This chart said to hook up the gas at 25psi for the wheat, and 11 for the pale ale. I did that. (I bought a two product regulator)

-Tried to pour beer today ~24 hours after the kegs went into the freezer and I'm pouring foam on both.

It's my understanding that carbing pressure and serving pressure are one and the same....So if that's the case what am I doing wrong?

I've heard of "line balancing" but I don't totally understand it, it seems like theres only ONE serving pressure that works for a given beer line, but what if your carbing pressure is different?

Can someone clear up my confusion and help me get this kegerator pouring nicely?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-07-2012, 03:38 PM   #2
Demon
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 95 Times on 66 Posts