Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Kegging my first beer

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-26-2010, 03:42 AM   #1
valicious
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Kegging my first beer

I brewed a Schwarzbier some time back, and I'm getting ready to carb it up in my corny. How much/how long should I carb it?

I was looking at this chart
http://www.kegerators.com/carbonation-table.php
It's chilling at 40C, so I was thinking about 10 or 11 PSI. How long should I leave it at that PSI before I drink it? When should I turn the CO2 off, or should I leave it on?

Is 10 or 11 PSI considered the "set it and forget it" method or the force carb method? Which is better?

As you can tell, I'm a complete kegging noob. Any help would be great.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-26-2010, 03:54 AM   #2
Suthrncomfrt1884
Recipes 

Liked 24 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Everyone has their own opinions on what method is best, but I highly suggest using the "set it and forget it" method. Force carbing involves cranking the psi up to 30, shaking the keg to dissolve CO2, and then turning it back down to 10-11psi. You could save yourself a few days by doing this, but it's pretty tricky to get it down pat. Most of the time, you'll end up overcarbonating your beer and having to start all over again.

I didn't look at the chart, but if it tells you to carb at 10-11psi, then yes, it's "set it and forget it". Just hook the keg up, purge it by letting it fill and then pulling the pressure relief valve. Do this a few times and then forget about it for 2-3 weeks. It will be fine to drink after about 5 days, but the flavor will improve 10x if you wait 2-3 weeks for the carbonation to balance out. Either method you decide on (force carbonate or "SIAFI") will still wind up taking 2-3 weeks to fully balance out and taste great, so why bother with rushing it?