New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > keg priming question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-12-2006, 07:31 PM   #1
sweetloaf
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default keg priming question

hello. i ordinarily force carbonate my kegs, but i'm preparing to age a dubbel for about 6 months and would like to prime this time. my question is this: why is less priming sugar required when kegging than when bottling? i've been brewing for about 10 years and have never seen an adequate explanation. i do not buy the explanation regarding headspace, since, while the headspace in a keg is large, it is roughly proportionate to the headspace in a bottle, given the greater total volume. it seems to me that for a given volume of beer with a given yeast count, a quantity of priming sugar should yield the same level of carbonation regardless of packaging. is there something in the cooperation of yeast when in a larger volume (like the keg) that i'm not considering? the last time i primed a keg using the prescribed 1/3 cup, the beer was undercarbonated. has anyone had this experience?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-12-2006, 07:39 PM   #2
david_42

Recipes 

Liked 130 Times on 124 Posts

I suspect it is a compensation for the pour. I run most of my ales at 8-10 psi, which is less than two volumes and get a nice head & residual carbonation. One probably loses more CO2 pouring from a bottle. Just a guess, as I don't bottle or prime my kegs.

Sounds like it needs RESEARCH, the kind you get government grants for.

Remember one unassailable statistic, as explained by the late, great George Carlin: "Just think of how stupid the average person is, and then realize half of them are even stupider!"

"I would like to die on Mars, just not on impact." Elon Musk

Old 09-12-2006, 10:01 PM   #3
sonvolt
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts