Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Keg Hopping?!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-18-2011, 01:21 AM   #1
dRaPP
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Keg Hopping?!

So I'm new to kegging, I just kegged my first beer on Saturday and I was very pleased that it was almost completely ready to drink by Sunday evening (after a lot of keg shaking to encourage dissolving). But unfortunately the beer that I kegged didn't have the floral hop aroma that I was aiming for, even after dry hopping with 0.5 Chinook and 0.25 Nelson for 4 weeks.

My two questions are:
1. Did I dry hop too long and lose some/all my hop aroma?
2. Is it possible to dry hop inside the keg (obviously in a pretty tight strainer bag to prevent clogging)?

Just thought of this idea tonight and I don't remember reading anything about anyone doing this on this forum. My thoughts are that "keg hopping" would lead to a really fresh strong hop aroma that would be perfect for the IPAs I'm brewing. Any advice is appreciated.

-David

Bottled: American Amber, American Pale, Red IPA
Kegged: One Hearted Ale

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2011, 01:28 AM   #2
ArcaneXor
Recipes 

Liked 71 Times on 69 Posts
Likes Given: 13

I dry hop in the keg all the time, using 1-gallon pain strainer bags that are suspended by unflavored dental floss from the lid (so that I can pull them out at any time). But four weeks is a LONG time to dry hop anything. Go larger amounts and shorter time - shouldn't take more than a few days.

Kegged: Fat Man Porter w/ 1469, Fat Man Porter w/ 005, Centennial Falcon w/ Conan, Centennial Falcon w/ Denny's, Barrel-aged Fat Man Porter, Belgian Dark Strong, Dark Mild

Old 01-18-2011, 01:50 AM   #3
kmat123
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArcaneXor View Post