Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Just found an interesting source for bottles. My Job!!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2008, 02:13 AM   #1
elbajista
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Just found an interesting source for bottles. My Job!!

Being that I'm fairly new to this hobby and to my job as a bartender, I never once considered using old liquor and wine bottles from the bar I work at for homebrewing.

We don't have any bottled beer (It's a country club bar at a golf course in a temporary modular building), but today I considered somehow using the typical bottles we use frequently for homebrew.

The only two types of bottles I come in contact with are your typical liquor bottles (Bar Liters of Jack, Jim Beam, Canadian Club, Absolut, Well Liquor, etc.) and Inglenook brand Wine Bottles.

From you more experienced brewers, do you think I could use these type of bottles for homebrewing? The liquor bottles have metal screwtops, so carbonated beer is out of the question, but could one potentially store an uncarbonated drink in the wine bottles? (I'm thinking uncarbonated Apfelwein)

Here's a bad cropping of the wine bottles from the official site:

The bottles have corks similar to this, only they're plastic and not actual cork:

The wine bottles are 1.5 Liters, and seem useful. We go through 4-6 a day, so it seems like such a waste of good, solid glass. I only see the lack of a real cork or ability to traditionally cap as a problem

FWIW....

Last edited by elbajista; 02-13-2008 at 02:17 AM.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2008, 02:30 AM   #2
jacobyhale

Recipes