Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Just bought a pin lock system

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-17-2012, 03:12 AM   #1
jerryteague
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 182 Times on 151 Posts

Default Just bought a pin lock system

Hey guys, I just bought a kegging system from Midwest today. Its a pin lock system with 2 kegs, a dual regulator, and a 5 lb CO2 cylinder. I'm a complete newb when it comes to kegs, so I'm sure I'll have plenty of questions about systems, kegs, etc.
My first question is: why are pin lock kegs less expensive than ball lock kegs? I can buy a re-conditioned pin lock keg for an average of $10 less than ball locks. Is there a reason, other than availability, or are pin lock kegs less desirable? Later, I plan on upgrading my system to 4 kegs on a 20 lb CO2 cylinder, and 1 keg on a nitrogen cylinder for stouts. If it becomes necessary later I may move to a ball lock system, but if pin locks are comparable, then what would be the reason to switch? Thanks in advance for the advice.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-17-2012, 03:18 AM   #2
nomadbrewer33
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

They both accomplish the same thing. I think the ball locks are more desirable because the replacement parts are easier to acquire. This is true for the simple fact that ball locks are more popular. This used to mean the ball locks were cheaper, so I guess times have changed...or you just found a good deal on some pin lock kegs.

Old 05-17-2012, 03:42 AM   #3
SharonaZamboni
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 1390 Times on 1284 Posts
Likes Given: 29

I also went with pin lock just because they were cheaper.

Old 05-17-2012, 03:45 AM   #4
Pappers_
HBT_MODERATOR.png

Recipes 

Liked 937 Times on 665 Posts
Likes Given: 2007

I chose pin locks, too. The diameter and height of the two varieties are different, also, meaning that you need to know what will fit your fridge/kegerator/keezer.