Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Issues with Bottle Conditioning and Carbonation

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-17-2010, 08:20 PM   #1
homebrewpey
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Issues with Bottle Conditioning and Carbonation

I've been brewing for about two years and have made over 50 batches, but have recently ran into an issue I cannot solve on my own with deductive reasoning. For reasons I'm not completely sure, the bottle conditioning process I have been using for quite some time is not carbonating my beer sufficiently, even after six weeks of being in the bottle. My last four batches over the last twelve weeks have come out really flat.

Other notables:

1. Temp is always 65-70
2. I secondary fermented my beers and there is VERY little sediment
3. Batches were AG only and partial mashes
4. I used about four oz priming sugar per five gallon volume
5. I don't normally secondary ferment, but have done so in the past without these same issues
6. Fermentation times were normal, in the 3-5 day range
7. Beer never dropped below 60 degrees during the whole process

I feel the problem must stem from one (or more) of these:

1. Not enough priming sugar
2. Not enough pitching yeast
3. Too proficient at clarifying beer with syphon and secondary fermentation
4. Too low of temperature bottle conditioning temperature

My questions:

1. Despite very, very little carbonation, if I wait a few more months, will it continue to carbonate?
2. Could it be possible I "filtered" too many yeast out of the batch, leading to my eventual lack of carbonation?
3. If #2 is true, is there anything I can do to fix it at this point?

You might be a homebrewer if you use the terms "beautiful" and "endearing" to describe a freakin' bubble

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-17-2010, 08:33 PM   #2
BendBrewer
Recipes 

Liked 69 Times on 55 Posts
Likes Given: 23