The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > How would you do it ? Bottle some, keg the rest

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-06-2011, 03:20 PM   #1
Wingfan13
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default How would you do it ? Bottle some, keg the rest

So I am just getting into kegging and am trying to figure out the easiest way to bottle some and keg the rest. I use 22oz bottles and brew 5 gallon batches.

I want to bottle about a gallon and keg the other 4. What would be the best way to prime/carbonate my bottles ? I want to force carb the keg so adding priming sugar to the bottling bucket wont work. How would you go about it ?

Thanks for the info !

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-06-2011, 03:32 PM   #2
Almighty
Recipes 

Liked 21 Times on 15 Posts

So you want to force carb the keg. Why don't you wait till the beer is carbed then fill bottles from the tap or use a bottle filler?

Do you want to force carb the keg, but carb the bottles with sugar?
Then all you would do is rack to your keg, then immediately push a gal to a bottling bucket . Add your priming sugar for one gallon and bottle.

Not sure what you are asking.

Old 07-06-2011, 03:35 PM   #3
_JP_
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

I was up against the same dilemma.

Bottling from the keg makes the most sense. There are plenty of how-to's out there, and bobby_m even has a youtube video.

Basically, after the beer's been conditioned in the keg, turn the serving pressure down to 5psi or less, and dispense through picnic tap/tubing into the bottle. Top with beer foam (to purge oxygen), and cap as usual.

this way, you're not worried about over/under priming, and can always fill more bottles. Plus, no sediment in the bottles.

Working on:
summer gardening

Upcoming projects:
NG line for outdoor burner

Old 07-06-2011, 03:41 PM   #4
JetSmooth
Recipes 

Liked 43 Times on 39 Posts