Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > How many of you bottle & keg the same batch?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-29-2012, 05:45 PM   #1
zacster
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 22 Times on 21 Posts

Default How many of you bottle & keg the same batch?

I'm new to kegging this summer, and one of the things I know I'm going to want to do is to bring bottles of my homebrew to parties, events, etc... I was thinking I'd set aside about 12-18 bottles of each batch.

How many of you do that? And how do you do it? Do you fill carbonated bottles from the keg, or do you bottle condition the bottles?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-30-2012, 04:27 AM   #2
thargrav
Recipes 

Liked 38 Times on 35 Posts
Likes Given: 2

I've done it but it has to be a really good beer that I want to save for friends later.

Old 07-30-2012, 04:35 AM   #3
Golddiggie
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 478 Times on 420 Posts
Likes Given: 266

I fill bottles from the keg/tap. I have both the Bowie Bottler and a Blichmann Beer Gun to do this with.

IME, it's far easier to bottle from a carbonated keg than to fill X bottles from the same batch, primed and then set aside to carbonate. I actually did this on Saturday so that I could bring brew to family to have. Thus we were able to have good homebrew with dinner Saturday, and Sunday, evening. I do find that the flip-top/swing-top bottles are better for me to bottle in (I have many). I can quickly cap them once filled, unlike with long necks.

跟猴子比丟屎 ・ Gun HOE-tze bee DIO-se

On Tap: Caramel Ale, Mocha Porter II, MO SMaSH IPA
Waiting/Carbonating: 12.5% Wee Honey II, 8.9% Old Ale, English Brown Ale, Lickah ESB, Mocha Porter II
Fermenting
K1:
K2: Epic mead
K3: TripSix
On Deck: Caramel Ale
Aging:mead
Mead [bottled]:Oaked Wildflower Traditional, Mocha Madness, Blackberry Melomel, maple wine

Old 07-30-2012, 11:22 AM   #4
RUNningonbrew
Recipes