New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > How long will it keep in a non-refrigerated keg?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-06-2009, 02:17 PM   #1
Spunkmeyer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 1

Default How long will it keep in a non-refrigerated keg?

Apologies if this is a dumb question:

I'm thinking of trying to get into kegging, but due to my housing circumstances and SWMBO, I'm not going to be able to do an entire setup right now. If I put a batch into a Corny keg stored in the basement, and then let that sit for several months at basement temperatures before getting a Keezer setup to refrigerate/carbonate it, will I have any issues with doing this?

Also, I didn't know if it would be better to prime the keg for greater CO2 production in the headspace, which might help it stay fresher.

Any advice? I have no prior experience with the kegging world; just know I'm tired of rinsing lots of bottles...

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-06-2009, 02:22 PM   #2
phrogpilot73
Loving the hobby

Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

I'm new to the kegging world, but after long hours of discussion with the guy at my LHBS - this is what he told me:

1. Purge the O2 out of the keg after you fill it, by sealing up the keg, connecting the gas and opening the CO2 valve. When you hear the "rush" stop, close the valve and pull the pressure relief on the keg. Do this 2-3 times, then set the CO2 for whatever carbing pressure you want.