Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > How long to bottle condition?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-07-2007, 01:16 AM   #1
delenda_est
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default How long to bottle condition?

Greetings. I'm a noob at homebrewing, but I'm having fun at it so far.

I've started doing partial mash ales in the last month or so and I have a question about how long to leave bottles at room temperature. I know that they should condition for a couple of weeks, but after that period should I continue to leave them at room temperature or should I refrigerate?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-07-2007, 01:31 AM   #2
Zymurgrafi

Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts

Default refrigeration not necessary

after a couple of weeks at "room temp" (a relative term) stick them somewhere cool for storage like a basement. I say room temp is relative because for example, way up north here where I am in a drafty old 100+ year house room temp is about 57-63 °F in winter. In which case I leave them to condtion about 3-4 weeks before moving to the cellar. If you like your beer cold, pop a few in the fridge when you want them, otherwise just cool 55-57°F is fine for storage.

Old 03-07-2007, 03:10 AM   #3
kvh
Recipes 

I have some homebrews which were bottled in the fall of last year, brewed for a new year's party. We still have some, stored at room temp since then, and the ones we tried a month ago were still fine. Previous to our trying them in January, they'd been in hot summer apartments, cold closets in winter, a friend's unheated apartment, just about everywhere.

I was told once that beer had a 3 year shelf life, however, I've seen some sold which are aged past 10.

I would say, after the 2-3 week bottle conditioning time period, they're mostly good to go anywhere you'd like to keep them. Save a few for over time. It's nice to learn how a beer ages.

kvh

Primary Fermentor -