Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > How to fix a leaky keg?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-11-2013, 05:06 PM   #1
bk0
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default How to fix a leaky keg?

I just bought my first kegging setup from LHBS. Ball-lock with regulator and hoses and a set of new O-rings.

I broke the keg down, replaced all the O-rings like it said to.

Put a batch of beer in it, pressurized to 10psi. Tried to shake it a bit and noticed some liquid coming out of the IN valve. When I stopped shaking it didn't seem to leak anymore. I'm no expert but it seemed like the hose didn't have very tight connection with the valve?

I took a pair of vice grips and tightened both valves as tight as I could.

Then I pressurized and let it sit 24 hours in my kegerator. Next day I try some and it's totally flat and my tank is mostly empty!

What the hell! Did I buy a bad keg or what? Do I need to replace the poppets?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-11-2013, 05:11 PM   #2
de3isit
Recipes 

Liked 15 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 3

You could start with the poppets, but if you have the CO2 connected to the in valve the pressure shouldn't allow liquid to come out of it. If the CO2 isn't connected and you have liquid coming out then you definitely need to replace the poppets. You may want to check the relive valve to make sure it isn't leaking as well.

Primary:

Secondary:
Pliny the Elder Clone

On Tap:
Hefe
Belgian Golden Strong

My Single Tier Build
Control Panel Upgrade

Old 04-11-2013, 05:13 PM   #3
nateburn
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts