Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Got my gas and liquid keg posts mixed up

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-09-2013, 01:57 PM   #1
max129
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default Got my gas and liquid keg posts mixed up

I'm pretty new to kegging (like only 4 or 5 kegs in) and apparently horrible at reading directions because I only learned today that there are differences between the gas and liquid posts on a ball lock keg. Unfortunately, I learned this after I filled both of my kegs, attached the gas and carbed them, and am now trying unsuccessfully to force a picnic tap on them. Is there anything I can do to fix this? Would it be ok if I vented the pressure, switched the posts, and then repressurized the keg? Or would I end up with beer all over my floor?

One of the beers is a birthday gift for my girlfriend so I may be more freaked out than usual. Thanks in advance for any advice.

Primary: Czech Dark Lager, Premium American Lager, Vanilla Porter, India Red Ale, Chocolate Bock
Secondary: Home Smoked Rauchbier, Doppelbock
Keg: California Common
Bottled: Dusseldorf Alt, Malt Liquor, Classic American Pils, Bourbon Barrel Cider, Wee Heavy

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2013, 02:14 PM   #2
stevo4361
Recipes 

Liked 47 Times on 38 Posts
Likes Given: 4

That will work fine man, just make sure to vent a couple of times to release the head space pressure after turning off or removing the gas, and the mess will be minimal. Just had to do this to replace a bad poppet valve. Also remember to sanitize everything you switch around with a spray of Star San or similar to keep everything nice and sanitized.

Old 03-09-2013, 07:29 PM   #3
JRems
Recipes 

Liked 58 Times on 50 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Or you could just switch the disconnects.

AnOldUR Likes This 
Old 03-11-2013, 02:16 PM   #4
max129
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Quote: