New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Force carbonation: leave it connected?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2014, 02:56 PM   #1
chichum
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Force carbonation: leave it connected?

I'm new to the CO2 world (well, to force carbonation). I plan to do things the 'right way' and just put the pressure and forget about it for two weeks. My question is this: when I put the keg up to, say, 10psi, do I keep the CO2 attached for the full two weeks? Or do I pump it up to 10psi, throw the keg in the fridge, disconnect the CO2 and just leave it? I couldn't figure out if I need to keep the CO2 connected or not (let's just assume there are no leaks).

Thanks!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-01-2014, 02:57 PM   #2
LLBeanJ
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 159 Times on 125 Posts
Likes Given: 75

Keep it connected.

Old 04-01-2014, 03:04 PM   #3
chichum
Recipes 

Cool thanks. One more question: I plan to bottle all of my beers after force carbonating them (I like having bottles because it makes my friends drink slower) - How do you tell when the beer is ready? Is it just wait for two weeks, pour one from the kegerator and see? Or is there a method to actually figure out the CO2 levels?

Old 04-01-2014, 03:07 PM   #4
LLBeanJ
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

There may be a more scientific method out there, but I prefer to use the "How does it taste and does the carbonation seem right?" method.

Old 04-01-2014, 03:13 PM   #5
chichum
Recipes 

So do what I mentioned and pour yourself some and if you like it, then throw it in the bottles?

Old 04-01-2014, 03:15 PM   #6
LLBeanJ
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

You got it.

Old 04-01-2014, 03:20 PM   #7
dobe12
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 104 Times on 70 Posts
Likes Given: 135