First time bottling

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wild Duk

Reaction score
I have been kegging since I started brewing 5 yrs ago. I'm gonna bottle my first batch. It's an IPA at about 8.0ABV. I have some light DME and was wondering the process and how much to use.
There is a calculator on BrewSmith that asks for the beer temp. Is that the temp it fermented at or the temp it will carb at..
Thx

That is the temp it is when you go to bottle it. The calculator in BS works, or there are several online as well - this one will tell you how much DME to use:
http://www.brewersfriend.com/beer-priming-calculator/

Take the amount of DME, or corn sugar needed, boil for a few minutes and put it into your bottling bucket. Rack onto that, allow the racking process to gently stir the solution so it gets mixed throughout, then bottle.

Thanks tek, and just so this doesnt cause confusion for the OP - I've confirmed I was incorrect, and tek is right. As the beer gets to a higher temp during the fermentation process, it will tend to lose some residual CO2. You need to account for this when calculating the amount of sugar to use in your priming solution by adding a little more to make up for what was lost during fermentation.

That said, the difference in the amount of sugar needed will generally be pretty small; for example, the amount of sugar needed for 2 vol CO2 @ 68 degrees is 3.1 oz, while @ 80 degrees is 3.4 oz