New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > The Finer Points of Kegging? How Long to Condition Beer in-Keg

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2009, 02:43 PM   #1
EinGutesBier
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default The Finer Points of Kegging? How Long to Condition Beer in-Keg

So I've finally made the jump to kegging. I have a feeling I won't be looking back to bottling too often after this. Since it is my first time, though, I've got a couple of questions and maybe you folks who have been there before can help me out.

First, is there a certain amount of time that a beer needs to condition in the keg (aside from the amount of time to saturate it with CO2) before serving?

Second, are there any first-timer pointers or preparations I need to make before kegging my brews?

Thanks!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2009, 03:11 PM   #2
Cpt_Kirks
Recipes 

Liked 43 Times on 38 Posts

Are you force carbing or going the natural route?

As far as "aging", that would depend on the brew. If you are worried about green beer, just leave it as long as you would in a bottle.

One of the many good things about kegging is that you can taste the beer, without "wasting" a bottle. If it's not ready, just let it sit some more.

Old 01-20-2009, 03:52 PM   #3
EinGutesBier
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpt_Kirks View Post
Are you force carbing or going the natural route?

As far as "aging", that would depend on the brew. If you are worried about green beer, just leave it as long as you would in a bottle.

One of the many good things about kegging is that you can taste the beer, without "wasting" a bottle. If it's not ready, just let it sit some more.