Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Extra check valve needed in primary/secondary regulator set up?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-05-2007, 06:40 PM   #1
PenPen
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Extra check valve needed in primary/secondary regulator set up?

I am looking to buy my regulator set up for my kegs. I’d like to have a dual-guage primary regulator with a single-secondary regulator. I’m going to “T” off of the main primary line with one line going to the higher psi keg and the other line going to the secondary regulator.

My question is this. Is there any need for me to install an in-line check valve below the T going to the higher psi keg?

I can’t conceptualize a situation where the pressure in the higher keg would push back into the line. But I’m new at this, so what do I know?

If the higher psi keg did blow back into the line, while there’s a check valve on the primary regulator, there’s nothing that would stop the flow to the input of the secondary regulator, thus gucking it up.

Any guidance is appreciated.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-05-2007, 07:33 PM   #2
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 2 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 949 Times on 633 Posts
Likes Given: 28

I guess it depends on where the check valve is. If you're using a hose barb "T" after the primary's shutoff and check valve, your problem may be a backup into the input of the secondary since there's nothing to stop that from happening. You might want to use a brass "Y" on the primary and run two shutoff/check valves.

Sightglass, Refractometer, Ball Valve, Weldless bulkhead, Thermometer, Decals, Stainless Steel Fittings, Compression Fittings, Camlock Quick Disconnects, Scale, RIMS tube, Plate Chiller, Chugger Pump, Super Clear Silicone Tubing, and more!

New Stuff?

Old 04-05-2007, 07:46 PM   #3
kornkob
Resident Crazy Uncle