Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Excessive Foam with Kegged Wheat Beer

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-11-2011, 12:51 AM   #1
PKLehmer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Excessive Foam with Kegged Wheat Beer

I'm new to homebrewing, but I've been using my kegerator with commercial kegs for a long time. This wheat beer is my second keg of homebrew (first was a Kolsch with no problems) I'm getting an absolute absurd amount of foam with this beer. I read that a wheat beer should have around 3.5 volumes of CO2. Using a carbonation calculator I figured I had to have my pressure around 23 psi. I've had it there for a couple of days, and now when I pour a beer, its nothing but foam. I've tried pouring a couple beers in a row and each one is nothing but foam. I knocked the pressure down to about 5 psi and it still foams that way. When I say excessive foam I mean there is literally no beer at the bottom, just nothing but foam. Did I have my psi set to high in the first place? Any ideas what's going on here?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-11-2011, 01:34 AM   #2
h22lude
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 56 Times on 48 Posts
Likes Given: 11

I am very new to kegging myself and I am trying to wrap my head around figuring out the length for different beers but I'll try to help lol

23PSI seems right at 45 degrees F for a wheat beer. How long is your line and what is the height from the middle of your keg to the shank? It seems like line length is what gives most people foam problems.

Old 02-11-2011, 03:28 AM   #3
GSM
Recipes 

Likes Given: 1

I'm a newbie but 23psi seems way high to me.

Old 02-11-2011, 03:55 AM   #4
ShakerD
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 7

If you pressure up to 23 psi at 45 degrees you will need a 138+ inch line

Check out this post and Calc

Cheers

Old 02-11-2011, 10:28 AM   #5
h22lude
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Quote: