Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Does bottle size affect carbonation?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-28-2008, 08:07 PM   #1
Robusto
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Does bottle size affect carbonation?

Hi all-
I’m new to all this home brew stuff (but have been a life long beer lover). I am getting ready to take the plunge and brew up my first batch, but I have a bottling question. Does the size or shape of the bottle affect the time, amount, or quality when it comes to carbonation? I have about 60 Grolsch swing top bottles that I have been saving up. They are 16oz I think. However, storing 50 something bottles in the fridge could be challenging. The bigger bottles could be nice. I have seen 2 liter “Growlers” that might be nice, but then I would have to find some thing to do with 2L of beer…. Hummm, 2 pizzas?

Thanks for the help-

Fred

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-28-2008, 08:15 PM   #2
devaspawn
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

I get the feeling that they may have some effect. I know that when i tried to do a calculation for priming my 5 gallon keg that it used about half the sugar that I would use if I were bottling in 12 oz bottles.

In your case though 4 oz difference is going to have little to no effect on the amount of priming sugar. 1 oz/gallon of beer. I suspect the same goes for the 2 liter growlers as well.

Prim 1: Ogre's House Red Ale
Prim 2: Apfelwein

Old 08-28-2008, 08:15 PM   #3
flyangler18
Recipes 

Liked 30 Times on 29 Posts
Likes Given: 5

3 weeks minimum @ 70 degrees, regardless of bottle size. If you plop those bottles in the fridge, it's going to take longer for them to carbonate properly.

As an aside, growlers aren't meant for long term storage- the glass can't handle the pressure and can explode.