Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Do I have a broken regulator?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-04-2010, 02:26 PM   #1
Ale to the Chief
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Do I have a broken regulator?

I am brand new to kegging and just got the system I got for Christmas set up. I am worried though that my regulator may not be functioning correctly. I am using the 'set and forget' method to carbonate my beer and have the regulator set to 12.

I check on it throughout the day and notice that it will lose a few psi every few hours. Also, when I pour a sample glass the pressure drops down and doesn't come back up. Should it shoot back up to 12 right away or does it take some time?

THanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-04-2010, 02:45 PM   #2
jtd_1
Recipes 

I know this sounds very simple, but are all your connections open? I.E. Cylinder valve, shutoff after the regulator? Just something to check.

Joe

Old 01-04-2010, 02:48 PM   #3
samc
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 53 Times on 50 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Is the beer at temperature yet? Pressure will drop as it gets colder.

or have you checked for leaks with StarSan or soapy solution?

Old 01-04-2010, 02:49 PM   #4
Ale to the Chief
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtd_1 View Post
I know this sounds very simple, but are all your connections open? I.E. Cylinder valve, shutoff after the regulator? Just something to check.

Joe
I will double check but I am pretty sure. What's weird is that if I pull the relief valve on top to release all the pressure from the keg, the regulator will kick on and bring it back up to pressure. But if I pour a beer, pressure will drop from 12 to 9 or so and then not raise back up.

Old 01-04-2010, 02:52 PM   #5
Ale to the Chief
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by samc View Post
Is the beer at temperature yet? Pressure will drop as it gets colder.