Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Conditioning, and Kegging?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-27-2012, 04:42 PM   #1
moorerm04
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default Conditioning, and Kegging?

I am new to kegging with only one batch under my belt in the keg. I have always done the 3 weeks in primary and 3 weeks in the bottle method, but what Is the best method for conditioning keg beer. I will still do a 3-4 week primary, but is the beer g2g once it carbs up in a weeks time after that? What do you guys do to get the bet quality kegged beer that isn't green?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2012, 04:50 PM   #2
ValleyBrew
Recipes 

If you so the set it and forget it method it will take around a week to get drinkable (to me...) and then I usually give it another week before I really think it's good, but that does depend on the beer. If it's a big beer, I may want to give it a month before it peaks... To me, aging is aging whether it's in the bottle or in the keg...

Old 02-27-2012, 04:50 PM   #3
badbrew
Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Pretty much the same thing unless you want to force carb at a high pressure and get it faster. I add 2-3 oz sugar, purge o2, and briefly charge to seal the seat, and then wait 2 weeks before chilling it and plugging the gas back in. So it is basically the same as bottling.

Old 02-27-2012, 04:53 PM   #4
Seven
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 124 Times on 64 Posts
Likes Given: 91

Quote:
Originally Posted by moorerm04 View Post