Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Cold Box project advice..Calling all engineers!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-26-2008, 05:03 AM   #11
Seabee John
Swing the BIG hammer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 22 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 17

I'm just throwing this out for conversation... and as an engineering student, I'm obligated to do so. My first thought was... yea it will probably work, but, I can be pretty lazy...so I asked myself the "why" question.

Hundreds of bars across the country store their beer in coolers in the basement or adjoining rooms of the bar. They run lines to tower taps or wall taps. I gotta ask the question: is this the only available space you have for a kegorator? If not, is the closest space close enough to run lines for a tower or tap wall?

My brother is in the heating, cooling, and appliance repair industry. I've talked with him many times about modifying freezers or fridges to do a myriad of tasks from cooling kegs to cooling wort. We've always settled on the fact that modifying appliances is risky at best. Either the equipment needed to control the operation will shorten the life of said cooler (like the ranco temp controls) or the cost to purchase the right equipment negates the project altogether.

If the space you have under your bar is the only space available, then by all means, build the cold box. If you can go another route, that would be the advice I would offer.

BTW, if by chance you build the box and you need technical questions answered by a professional in regards to the appliances, PM me and I'll get you my brothers info.

Mom was right. Never argue with an idiot. They just drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

Where's my beer. I know I left it around here somewhere.....
Kegged/Drinking:Nihilistic Integrity - Black IPA, #1 BIAB pale ale, Bells Two Hearted - yes a keg of the real stuff