Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > CO2 manifold 5/16" barbs too big for 1/4" corny connection HELP

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-11-2011, 10:21 PM   #1
dallasdb
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 53 Times on 43 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default CO2 manifold 5/16" barbs too big for 1/4" corny connection HELP

Okay, I bought a used Keg Connection CO2 manifold from another member.

I didn't realize I needed to take into account different size barbs (1/4" or larger).
This is my first time kegging and realized last night I didn't have the right barb size!

I went to General Air today and got some 1/4" brass barbs that will work for now but need some suggestions:

1. I can replace the barb going into the manifold fine, but where can I get cheap 1/4" check valves? I'd like to go local and save on shipping.
FYI you can take the barbs off the check valves but the threads aren't "normal." You can't just put a new size barb on it.

2. Do they sell larger than 1/4" barbed gas in connections for cornies? I've only seen 1/4".

3. Does someone make/sell a piece that can connect a 3/8" line to a 1/4" line?
I was thinking of a piece with 2 barbs on each end that would act as a line reducer to put together different size lines.

A generic image of my manifold is below.

co2-man-cropped.jpg  

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-11-2011, 10:48 PM   #2
dallasdb
Recipes 

Also, can the plug in the end of the manifold be removed and replaced with another check valve making it a 3 way air distributor?

co2-man-cropped.jpg  

Old 05-11-2011, 10:52 PM   #3
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 2 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 949 Times on 633 Posts
Likes Given: 28

I'm confused. You can easily put 1/4" ID tubing over a 5/16" barb. Just soak the end in a mug of boiling water for 30 seconds.