Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Cask conditioning

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-08-2012, 01:33 AM   #1
JJ74
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Cask conditioning

Here is my dilema.

I have an English Bitter that I'm just about ready to put in my "cask" (using corny keg).

I made 5 gallons. I want to try to serve authentically.

I have my Keezer set to 50 degrees.

I have looked at set-up of using hand pump to avoid having to use CO2.

However, 5 gallons probably last me 3-4 months.

If I keep my keg sealed, a vacuum will develop and hand pump will not work.

If I open occassionally is oxidation still going to be an issue? any suggestions?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-08-2012, 12:26 PM   #2
billf2112
Recipes 

Liked 14 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 13

I am wanting to try this, but since you really want yo kill the thing in a sitting, I was thinking small batch. I bought some 5L mini kegs, they have spouts built in and bung holes up top. Think at just over a gallon they are perfect.

Bill from Pa

On Deck: Irish Stout,
Primary: Pumpkin Ale
Secondary: Empty
Completed: Red, Wit and Blue, Irish Stout, Red Ale, German Style Amber Lager, All Grain Brews: Irish Red Ale, American Stout, Honey Weizen

Old 09-08-2012, 02:40 PM   #3
dzlater
Recipes 

Liked 27 Times on 26 Posts
Likes Given: 116

Could just open the relief valve when you want to pull a pint?

Old 09-09-2012, 05:12 PM   #4
JJ74
Recipes 

Opening the relief valve would allow O2 in, which I am trying to avoid. I read suggestions about using an aspirator or breather or a low-pressure LPG regulator on CO2 cartridge to allow just enough CO2 in to blanket beer. Cannot find details on any of theses ideas though.

Old 09-10-2012, 11:47 PM   #5
jhall4
Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 5