Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway - Last Chance to Enter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > cask ale set up

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-12-2009, 12:26 AM   #1
stillwater
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default cask ale set up

Would any of you who serve beer out of a soda keg with a hand pump and NO CO2 care to post pictures and descriptions of your set up, as well a satisfaction or disappointments with the results. Also recommended styles as well as styles that may not be appropriate. I've been bottling for several years now but would like to give cask conditioning a try, this group of experienced brewers seemed like a good place for advice.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-12-2009, 12:36 AM   #2
SeamusMac
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 2

I wasn't aware that a cornelius-type keg could be used with a hand pump; but I have a 50L sanke-type keg that I'm letting cask condition right now. Once I tap it and try 'er out I'll post a response.

Primary: Edwort's Apfelwein
Primary: Brewingcentres Pale Ale
Primary: Brewcraft - Cheap 'n' Shiddy Bavarian Wheat

Kegged: Brewcraft - Cheap 'n' Shiddy Bavarian Wheat
Kegged: Brewcraft - Enhanced Dutch Lager
On Tap: Brewcraft - Irish Stout

Old 07-12-2009, 02:51 AM   #3
david_42

Recipes 

Liked 135 Times on 128 Posts

I've seen a couple setups. All they did in each case, was put an OUT connector on the engine's suction. You let air in by pulling the relieve valve ring and rotating it 90 degrees so it stays open.

Remember one unassailable statistic, as explained by the late, great George Carlin: "Just think of how stupid the average person is, and then realize half of them are even stupider!"

"I would like to die on Mars, just not on impact." Elon Musk

Old 07-12-2009, 05:55 AM   #4
stillwater
Recipes