Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Carbonation issues in 1st beer - HELP!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-05-2011, 12:43 AM   #1
jmwhelan11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Carbonation issues in 1st beer - HELP!

I am very new to home brewing and I finally bottled my first beer! I was excited to see how my first beer was coming along, and I tried one after a week of bottle conditioning. The beer did not taste as carbonated as it should have been following a week in the bottle. I used the Honey Nut Brown kit from Midwest Supply, which suggested to use 5oz of the provided corn sugar boiled with 1 cup of water. Did I do something wrong? Is it too soon to worry? Is there a way to carbonate the beer more now that it has been bottled for a week now? Thanks for the help!

Mike

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-05-2011, 12:46 AM   #2
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 2733 Times on 1640 Posts
Likes Given: 3485

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmwhelan11 View Post
... The beer did not taste as carbonated as it should have been following a week in the bottle.
At a week in the bottle I wouldn't expect it to be carbonated at all.

The 3 weeks at 70 degrees, that we recommend is the minimum time it takes for average gravity beers to carbonate and condition. Higher grav beers take longer.

Stouts and porters have taken me between 6 and 8 weeks to carb up..I have a 1.090 Belgian strong that took three months to carb up.

Temp and gravity are the two factors that contribute to the time it takes to carb beer. But if a beer's not ready yet, or seems low carbed, and you added the right amount of sugar to it, then it's not stalled, it's just not time yet.

Everything you need to know about carbing and conditioning, can be found here Of Patience and Bottle Conditioning. With emphasis on the word, "patience."