The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Can I fill a keg half way?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-27-2012, 05:30 PM   #1
homebrewbeliever
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default Can I fill a keg half way?

Hey all,
I am very new to kegging. I have a friend who I did a co-brew with and who wants to split the beer into two kegs (one for her and one for me). Can I purge the O2 on a half-keg, let it age, and then force carb it like it was a full keg? Does this even work? Any help ya'll can provide would be most appreciated.

For eclectic escapades in home-brewed deliciousness:
http://homebrewbeliever.blogspot.com

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-27-2012, 05:38 PM   #2
Golddiggie
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 472 Times on 417 Posts
Likes Given: 266

You'll just have more CO2 in the keg when it's half full. Make sure you still purge it properly once you fill them.

I use 2.5 and 3 gallon kegs for my beer (more 3 gallon kegs, since I get 6 gallons out). If you're going to be splitting 5 gallon batches often, into kegs, you might want to get the smaller kegs too.

I wouldn't transfer to keg until the batch is otherwise ready to drink. More time in primary means more yeast will settle out before you transfer. The makes for far less sediment in the keg. I typically go 3-4 weeks for moderate (or my 'low') OG batches which are around 1.060. Bigger brews get longer, depending on what they are and such. Once they go to keg, though, they're ready to be carbonated (I use the two week, set and forget, method) and then go to glass. Since I do fill two kegs from each batch, and only put one into the brew fridge from each at a time (has four spots), I have half of the batch (or more if I make a bigger batch) that gets to age in keg. Good way, IMO, to experiment there.

跟猴子比丟屎 ・ Gun HOE-tze bee DIO-se