Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Bottling Tips for the Homebrewer

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-23-2011, 09:31 PM   #401
phull
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Hey everyone, I'm sorry if this was already discussed, I have been searching and I have found lots of information but I just can't seem to wrap my head around what to do. I am new to brewing and have recently decided to try a cider. I plan for it to be a still cider and I was wondering if it could be bottled into a half gallon milk jug seeing as I am not carbonating. I have read the many threads about the permeability of this plastic; however, I just wanted to check and see what the negative effects of such a bottling choice would be. Thanks for all the help, the forum has helped me since I started brewing!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2011, 10:02 PM   #402
agodfrey11
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by phull View Post
Hey everyone, I'm sorry if this was already discussed, I have been searching and I have found lots of information but I just can't seem to wrap my head around what to do. I am new to brewing and have recently decided to try a cider. I plan for it to be a still cider and I was wondering if it could be bottled into a half gallon milk jug seeing as I am not carbonating. I have read the many threads about the permeability of this plastic; however, I just wanted to check and see what the negative effects of such a bottling choice would be. Thanks for all the help, the forum has helped me since I started brewing!

I wouldn't because of the length of time it would be viable. I would think it would go bad pretty quickly. I would get a capper, bottles, and caps. That way you can keep some long term and see how the flavors change. And if you plan to do more batches the capper is a very small investment.
On Deck: Rye IPA, Jamil's British Bitter, Jamil's 60 Shilling