Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Best commercial beer bottles for homebrew

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-25-2009, 02:41 PM   #1
Soc
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 1 Posts

Default Best commercial beer bottles for homebrew

I have been homebrewing for about two years but I have never bottled before. I had a kegging system right away so all of my brews have gone to keg. I have a Holiday Ale right now, however, that I want to bottle so I can give some away as Christmas presents. I don't have any empty bottles right now and I feel like buying beer bottles without beer in them is a waste. When needing good bottles for homebrew, what beers do you guys buy? I'm looking for several things here, they obviously need to be dark non twist off bottles but I would also prefer no real markings on the bottles and obviously need them to be good tasting brews. Any suggestions?

On Tap: Apfelwein, Multigrain Red Ale, Belgian Dubbel, Irish Red Ale

Fermenting: Cream of Three Crop Ale, Blonde Ale, Apfelwein

Kegged up and ready to tap: Apfelwein

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2009, 02:45 PM   #2
bad67z
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 106 Times on 75 Posts
Likes Given: 26

My two favorite are Sam Adams and (I hate to say it) American Lager from Budweiser. They are some of the heaviest bottles I have found.

Old 11-25-2009, 04:23 PM   #3
riverfrontbrewer
Recipes 

Liked 33 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 4

New Belgium bottles..... labels fall of with 10-15 minutes in hot water and the minimal residual glue comes off very easy with a kitchen scrubby pad.

Old 11-25-2009, 04:26 PM   #4
EvilGnome6
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by DurangoHomeBrewMafia View Post
New Belgium bottles..... labels fall of with 10-15 minutes in hot water and the minimal residual glue comes off very easy with a kitchen scrubby pad.