Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Anybody refill their 5 or 10# tanks from a larger tank?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-05-2008, 02:41 AM   #1
BullF-16
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 97
Default Anybody refill their 5 or 10# tanks from a larger tank?

Well, after bottling my first batch. Thats it. Today i called keg connection and ordered a 3 keg frig kit with a dual regulator for future expansion. I also upgraded to a 10 lb CO2 cylinder. Bought a 7.0cf GE chest freezer from SamsClub that i will collar this weekend. I have a very large cylinder 50# that i used to use to refill my sons and friends paintball tanks. Are the homebrew co2 cylinders equipped with pin valves? If not, does anyone refill thier cylinders from a larger. This would negate the hassle of going to the local welding supply shop. Most only accept trade ins anyway.

Thanks for helping a newb out

__________________
BullF-16 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-05-2008, 02:59 AM   #2
Choguy03
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 446
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

I would think you would be fine as long as you knew how much the tank could hold. I don't know much about the capacity of them but as long as the psi is not exceeded you should be fine.

__________________
Mad Scientist Brewing Co.

:Fermentation Cabinet:

Primary: Bee Cave Bavarian Hefe
Secondary: Nothing
Bottled: Nothing
On Deck: Gumball Head Clone (Jekster)
Choguy03 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-05-2008, 01:22 PM   #3
bsay
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Fort Collins
Posts: 574
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

The "homebrew" CO2 tanks have the same connection, just no pin, instead you use the valve on the top to open/close the cylinder. If you have a filling station already, you're probably all set (though I don't know for sure if the one you have will work). Does it have a siphon in the 50# tank? (So that liquid CO2 is transferred) When they say 5# CO2, they mean it, weigh the tank before filling, and weigh it after. You should be able to put 5# of CO2 in it.

__________________

Check out my Homebrewery Virtual Tour!

Who says you can't brew all-grain indoors?
Brewing 2.5 gal batches with a 2gal cooler MLT in my cramped apartment. Pictures coming soon!

Ask me about my Keezer/2.5 gal brew setup!

bsay is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-05-2008, 05:40 PM   #4
BullF-16
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 97
Default

yes, it has a dip tube. i will try the filling station i have and just open the valve. Will also fill it while on a scale so as not to overfill it. hope it works.

Thanks

__________________
BullF-16 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-05-2008, 05:46 PM   #5
BigKahuna
Senior Member
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
BigKahuna's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Eastern Colorado
Posts: 5,942
Liked 47 Times on 41 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default

HERE:

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f11/fill...-bottle-75951/

Ignore the banter, you can extract the helpful information.

__________________
Seriously. I'm here for BEER
It's Not The Size Of Your Rig That Counts....It's How Often You Use It.
BigKahuna is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Refill or exchange CO2 tank? Corbin Bottling/Kegging 39 01-27-2010 08:24 PM
Refilling 5# CO2 Tanks from 20# Tank nealperkins Equipment/Sanitation 2 10-09-2009 01:15 PM
Should I refill my CO2 tank rjester Bottling/Kegging 12 06-27-2007 01:10 PM
Co2 Tank Refill in Dallas texag93 Equipment/Sanitation 4 09-18-2006 01:32 PM