Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Am I going to over carb?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-03-2012, 01:32 AM   #1
Mario_B
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 3

Default Am I going to over carb?

So this is my first time kegging. I used this chart. I'm just finishing up my kegerator so I'm carbing this up at room temp ~65F. So I hopes of not over carbing, I set my regulator to 21psi. It's been 3 days now. How long would you guys recommend leaving it to carb up? And once I'm ready to chill it, should I just put it and serving pressure? Also, the keg is now significantly heavier than before. I was expecting this a little bit with the co2 dissolving, but it's way heavier. Should I be worried? Can someone put my mind at ease?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-03-2012, 01:50 AM   #2
day_trippr
Recipes 

Liked 1139 Times on 924 Posts

Give me a sec, I'm still laughing about the keg getting heavier

Whew....Ok, let's see...The end game is to have the carbonation pressure match up with the temperature you'll be serving the beer and the desired carbonation level - AND have the serving pressure match that carbonation pressure.

You can certainly carb the beer at 65°F, and there's no harm in setting your regulator so the carbonation level matches the style and/or personal preference. For a typical ~2.5 volumes, you'd want to bump the pressure up to the ~28 psi shown in the chart.

Then, once you drop the temperature down to - say - 40°F, you'd also drop the CO2 pressure down to ~12 psi, which will maintain that 2.5 volumes of CO2 throughout the life of the keg. The key here is your serving system has to be able to handle a 2.5 volume brew without excessive gas breakout which would lead to foamy pours.