New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > Turbo Cider or Runny Apple Water??

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2009, 07:18 PM   #1
con20or
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Turbo Cider or Runny Apple Water??

Hi everyone, I'm very new to the brewing world and a little confused. I've tried to make some turbo cider from a recipe i found on youtube (while im waiting for apple season)

I found alot of the answers I was looking for in other posts on this forum, but I would like to get confirmation on some points and help on others. Sorry if this is a long one.

Turbo Cider
The recipe called for 5l Apple Juice, some yeast nutrient and some yeast. Simple as. I put it together, and took a hydrometer reading. It was my first time using a hydrometer, but I think i read it right. The SG was something in the region of 1.05 to start? As I mentioned, I have looked around and 1.05 for apple juice seems like average. After a day or two it was bubbling away like mad, I waited two weeks or so like the recipe said, it had started to stop bubbling out of the airlock. I hesitated at this point and waited probably another 4 to 5 days before today i finally siphoned it off into another demijohn. I took another SG reading and it was 1.005 or nearabouts (i am not entirely sure i read it right, but I think so.).

I tasted it, it just tasted like cider that had been mixed with water. I used a brewing calculator and it sais i should be getting around 5.6% strength? Surely i would taste that..Have I tasted it too soon and its actually ok? Or have I left it in the Demijohn too long after fermentation stopped?

A few other questions;