Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > Total Cider Noob: Trying to create a caramel apple drink

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-26-2010, 03:44 AM   #1
ErikHoppy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Total Cider Noob: Trying to create a caramel apple drink

Hello all,

I'm totally new to brewing and making cider, but I have some cool ideas floating around in my head that I'd like to try to make.

One of my favorite fall treats is a caramel apple from the local fall fair. I want to make a cider that will taste like this, but I have some questions.

I'm thinking of adding brown sugar and caramel (and maybe some nutmeg?) to my apple juice. Will the brown sugar and/or caramel ferment out? I have read that the caramel will not, but I'm not sure on the brown sugar. I want to have a cider that's "Hard and Fast", so it should be strong but very tasty.

Any and all suggestions/recipes would be great, as I'd like to start this soon, so it can age for 9 months!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-26-2010, 05:31 AM   #2
corexcore
Recipes 

For one thing, I believe there is such a recipe under the cider recipe subforum. I know there's one for a caramel apple mead, but that takes over a year, which is a long time to wait. Based on reading that one, and the caramel apple cider recipe I believe is kicking around though, it sounds like in order to get an enduring caramel flavor you'd want to use some Crystal 60L or 120L. I remember there was some debate about whether caramel would ferment out or not. Brown sugar definitely will. This sounds like a cider that could be great tasting if you left it still and backsweetened it, or did so then carbed up in a keg. Bottle carbing is difficult.