The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > Tempature for cider to mature

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-13-2010, 02:02 PM   #1
RW1989
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Tempature for cider to mature

Hi

Im new to cider making and just need some help on maturing my cider
I had my cider in a sealed fermenting vessel with an airlock on the top for about a week and a half and the bubbling in the airlock slowed right down so i did a gravity test and it was just below 1.000 so i left it for a few more days and it was still the same but still bubbling every 30 seconds or so, so i decided to put it into a demijohn under airlock to ferment, I put the demijohn out in the garage and left it over nite and when i checked on it in the morning the tempature was about 50 oF and strangeley the airlock was bubbling the other way??? and when i bring it back inside for a few minutes it goes back to normal and bubbles every few seconds,My question is.. is it too cold out there or does it need to be cold to mature, do i need to add any campden tablets/sorbate to stop the fermantation now it is at the correct gravity? Any help would be appreciated, Thankyou

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2010, 05:49 PM   #2
RobWalker
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 1

potassium sorbate should kill the yeast off but it can only be used when the yeast is active i think - if it's still bubbling, stir it in.

Old 12-13-2010, 06:15 PM   #3
RW1989
Recipes 

Ok. do i need to stop it frmenting or can i just let it ferment out and leave it for few months to clear. any idea what tempature it needs to be at to clear/age?

Old 11-02-2012, 08:27 PM   #4
lucasbodie
Recipes 

Likes Given: 1