Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > Stopping Fermentation/Bottling

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-23-2012, 10:26 PM   #11
drewmey
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 6

I completely agree that it is just easier and more simple to wait and siphone a second time to remove as much yeast as possible. However, i don't agree about the alcohol thing. Alcohol begins to boil off at 170 degrees whereas yeast tends to die at 140. Also you have to boil alcohol for about 15 minutes just to remove about 50 percent of the alcohol. So i would think having the exterior at 190 would have almost no affect on the alcohol content. By the time the temperature begins to reach equilibrium between the two, the temperature should be less than 170. Then again...Haha this is my first time doing this.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-23-2012, 10:29 PM   #12
drewmey
Recipes 

I think i worded it wrong initially. I meant bring up the water to 190, turn it off, put the cider in, wait. Contents in the bottle probably won't reach 170 unless you leave it a long time. But yeah, it will be cleaner, less work and safer the way you mentioned.

Old 12-23-2012, 10:32 PM   #13
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4342 Times on 3157 Posts
Likes Given: 845

Quote:
Originally Posted by drewmey View Post