Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > 'sea sponge' in secondary

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-28-2013, 07:16 PM   #1
bugmeister
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default 'sea sponge' in secondary

Hi folks,

new member here and thank you for your advice. i have found this forum to be very useful. i am relatively new to cider making, and have a few batches in secondaries now. one of them is a 3 gal batch of local unpasteurizeded good quality cider that had an initial sg of 1.05. using salfale 50 with a nutrient for yeast. bumped it with a lb of average store bought honey and a lb of brown sugar to an sg of 1.065. also added 2 sticks of cinnamon soaked in vodka (kill the bugs), in the primary. I have removed the Cinnamon when racked to secondary and now, 3 weeks later the cider is crystal clear amber brown with 2 'sea sponge' looking masses in the carboy. it is bubbling like i have never seen anything before. the other 3 batches now- 5 gallons with some ginger, 1 gallon all natural and 3 gallons sparkling are all doing great, but the only one with Cinnamon added has these sea sponges and is already clear and cooking away.

can anyone tell me why the solids organize themselves into these gassy seas sponges? looks great and I cant wait to taste. thanks in advance.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-28-2013, 08:18 PM   #2
Bluespark
Recipes 

Liked 26 Times on 20 Posts

Pictures please?

Old 01-28-2013, 09:26 PM   #3
WilliamSlayer
Recipes 

Liked 118 Times on 112 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Ok, cool sounding I have to say. Having used ground cinnamon in my last batch, I think its the cinnamon. I got some unusual clumps, but nothing quite like that! :-)

Old 01-29-2013, 03:04 PM   #4
bugmeister
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default sea sponge pictures