Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > sanitizing additives

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-12-2009, 03:23 AM   #1
yeastluvr
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default sanitizing additives

I'm new to brewing and this site. I have cider/wine fermenting made from apple juice, sugar, pectic enzyme and a little grape tannin. I had to add almost 9 cups white sugar to a little over 3 gallons juice to get the potential alcohol to 11% which seemed like a lot of sugar to me, but hey, I'm completely new at it and trusted the hydrometer. I'm planning on racking into another carboy in 2-3 weeks, then letting cider sit, "and hopefully clear." I'm concerned about bacteria. I sterilized everything before fermenting. I have read about and like the idea of adding apple juice concentrate for a little sweetness and flavor, especially with this higher alcohol recipe. Of course I'll kill the yeast before adding.

Should I be concerned at all about adding frozen concentrate then bottling. Should I boil the concentrate first, or is it fine to mix right in and bottle. I'm very curious since I don't want to mess it up at the end. For that matter is there anything that you should boil before you put it in?

Last edited by yeastluvr; 03-12-2009 at 03:31 AM.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-12-2009, 06:45 AM   #2
lapaglia
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

The concentrate is already sterile as far as we are concerned. Its clean enough to eat. It is fine to add just the way it is. Just make sure all your utensils and containers are sanitized.

On Deck: 90 Shilling Clone

Old 03-12-2009, 01:24 PM   #3
Tusch
Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 7 Posts

Yeah, just let it thaw in the container, and then open and add the now liquid concentrate to the sanitized carboy and you are good to go.

Old 03-13-2009, 12:43 AM   #4
Shooter
Almaigan Brewing Co.
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes