Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > Safe to drink?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-19-2011, 03:27 PM   #1
Apoxbrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default Safe to drink?

So I'm making some cider. Have made lots of beer, but this is my first time working with straight juice.

I know that with beer while there may be bugs that can make the beer taste nasty, but there's nothing that can grow in it that'll make a person ill.

Does the same go for cider? Or do I need to be concerned about ecoli or some other bug that could make the ppl drinking it ill??

Thanks for the info!

On Tap - The Tunguska Event, Cream Ale
On Tap - Devastated Sky, CDA
On Tap - Fallow Fields, Autumn Ale
On Tap - East Creek Sour Wheat, Sour Wheat Ale
Fermenting - Nothing :(

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-19-2011, 03:32 PM   #2
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 2728 Times on 1636 Posts
Likes Given: 3485

Yes, it goes for all fermented beverages....The whole history of beer, wine, mead and cider/Fermentation is general is that nothing pathogenic can exist in them They were consumed in places where the water could kill you, or make you sick.

Even slightly fermented beverages were consumed, even by children. Hard ciders were drunk like we drink bottled water.

Why do you think the Catholic Church chose wine as the basis of their sacrament? Because wine was more important to the culture of the desert where Christianity came from than water. Water safe, drinkable water was rare. So wine was the safer, common beverage of the day.

In fact Maureen Ogle posits that since plymouth rock though colonial times, ciders were drunk more than beer or wine for that very reason...plus there wasn't a domestic barley crop yet, but apples were plentiful, so more cider was brewed to be drunk in place of water than beer actually.