Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > Results from juice, yeast and sugar experiments

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-15-2013, 12:46 AM   #821
mattmmille
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 334 Times on 213 Posts
Likes Given: 358

Wow...very impressed with your dedication to ciders and cysers! I'm a complete newbie and started making small batches of cyser due to an abundance of crabapples in my neighborhood that nobody else is using. I currently have two batches racked and aging and one batch that I started 4 days ago. The first two are made with Champagne Yeast and the third is with Safale s-04. I had 4 cups of freshly extracted juice, 6 quarts of water, 1lb 12 oz white sugar, campden tablet, yeast nutrient, pectin enzyme and the extraction leftovers in a cheesecloth bag, in a primary fermentation bucket for 24 hours. Removed the bag and pitched the yeast. I'm letting the first two batches stay dry, priming and bottling. But for the third, I would like it to be a little sweeter. My OG for batch #3 is 1.053 adjusted. After 4 days, the SG is at 1.021 adjusted. So, my potential is for over 8% ABV, if it ferments out to the 0.990 range. I think a little sweetness might take a little of the edge off. I have no equipment for pasteurizing or cold crashing and have not yet attempted either. I prefer cyser, but only have bottling capability. I want to backsweeten, but read a lot about bottle bombs. I'm planning on using Munton's CarTabs (but wonder if floaters in my test bottles are coming from them?). I guess I'm looking to ferment out and then backsweeten with something non-fermentable. I am skeptical about Splenda, as I have heard people complain about weird aftertastes. I can rack into a couple of carboys and leave indefinitely, if a particular length of time is ideal. I would love to benefit from your experience and hear your thoughts/advice/comments. Thanks for indulging my ramble!!