Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > Results from juice, yeast and sugar experiments

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-14-2012, 02:53 PM   #671
SkiNuke
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 4

I just cold crashed 1 keg at 1.008 and 1 keg at 1.010. My plan is to let them sit there for a few days, transfer them to a new keg each and then add campden and sorbate to officially halt the fermentation. I plan on carbing with CO2 and bottling these, then giving about 5 gallons out to friends and I would hate for them to go boom. Any thoughts on using a combined cold-crash/sorbate method? I have never used sorbate before since I am a beer guy so I don't really know what to expect.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-14-2012, 06:00 PM   #672
CvilleKevin
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 84 Times on 42 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Quote:
Any thoughts on using a combined cold-crash/sorbate method?
If you used ale yeast, I would expect that to be effective. Sorbate does impart a noticeable taste, which is why I dont use use, although some people are OK with the taste. Before adding sorbate to your kegs, I would advise that you first mix a small amount of your cider with small amount of sorbate to see how the taste works for you. To me it has more of a root beer taste than for cider, but with different juice YMMV. I could see it maybe working in a spiced cider. If the keg you are keeping stays cold, then you dont need to add sorbate to that batch - the cold will keep it stable.

Old 10-16-2012, 02:50 PM   #673
CvilleKevin
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Default 2nd juice pressing for 2012